Training for Disabled Adults

Our Mission:

“Providing supports that improve the quality of life and self worth of individuals we serve.”

Our Vision:

To be the preferred provider of services and supports that enhance independence, dignity, opportunities and personal choice for individuals with intellectual and emotional challenges.

Our Locations

Get directions and additional information about the programs available at each of our locations

Our Programs

The Vocational Units are divided into 3 separate levels of work programs - read more about our programs

Ears Newsletter

About Us

Ephrata Area Rehab Services opened its doors in November, 1970 with two staff and 20 clients. Begun by a group of dedicated individuals from Bethany UCC, their desire was to establish a sheltered workshop for the residents of the Ephrata area who were intellectually disabled. The first workshop was located at 145 East Locust Street in Ephrata. EARS main purpose was the training of intellectually disabled individuals to become productive and contributing members of the community. The program has grown to include three locations, over 250 individuals and over 50 staff members. Today, EARS has grown to include seven different programs to meet the individualized needs of those served.

EARS Will Strive To:

  • Provide skill training for movement to other vocational opportunities
  • Encourage/promote independence in personal care, and all other areas of life
  • Assist each person in developing effective communication techniques to express needs
  • Offer assistance in the procurement of adaptive devices
  • Offer alternatives for personal adjustment in order to handle a variety of work
    and social situations
  • Provide dignity for all accomplishments
  • Provide activities that develop problem solving skills and decision making

Board Of Directors:

  • David Hollowood, President
  • Don Brackbill, V.P.
  • Elwood Hann, Treasurer
  • Mike Huegel, Secretary
  • Dennis Dougherty
  • Tim Cable
  • Kyle Robinson

Leadership Team

David B. Lloyd Executive Director dlloyd@ephratarehab.org
Daryl Martin Chief Financial Officer dmartin@ephratarehab.org
Kathi Kreiser Rehab Director kkreiser@ephratarehab.org
Karen L. Hummel Operations Director khummel@ephratarehab.org
Carol Martin Client Services Manager – Ephrata cmartin@ephratarehab.org
Marlene Hinkle Client Services Manager – Lebanon mhinkle@ephratarehab.org
Beth Weaver Production Manager bweaver@ephratarehab.org
Ron Hummel Moble Work Crew Manager rhummel@ephratarehab.org